In which countries are dual citizenship permitted

In which countries are dual citizenship permitted

Political and economic instability inmany countries of the world makes people think about the safety of their and their loved ones. Especially it concerns the countries of the former socialist camp. To protect families from political and economic cataclysms, people decide on emigration. The countries of the old world (European states) use the greatest demand in this matter, since a large part of them provide the right of dual citizenship. Despite the fact that in most of these countries this possibility is not legalized, residents with dual citizenship are quite numerous.

In which countries are dual citizenship permitted



Dual citizenship in Europe allowsimprove the quality of life and provides an opportunity for free movement around the world, store money in European banks, expand international business and much more. In addition, it is important to get rid of paperwork: the issuance of visas and other documents.


European countries in which dual citizenship is legalized: Bulgaria, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Cyprus, Romania, Slovakia, Turkey, France, Switzerland.


European countries, in which categoricallydual citizenship is prohibited: Andorra, Belarus, Malta, Monaco, Lithuania, Poland, Croatia, Estonia. That is, in the countries listed, you can be a citizen of this country only and bear responsibility under the laws of that state for the duration of your stay on its territory.


In all other countries, amendments to thethe possibility of dual citizenship. For example, if you register for Czech citizenship and, having moved to this country, to live on its territory for 5 years without renouncing the status of a citizen of the state in which you used to live, you can legitimize dual citizenship.


In addition to the Czech Republic, other European countries also havedifferent nuances of registration of dual citizenship. For example, in Slovenia dual citizenship can be allowed to forced immigrants and their children. In Finland, the exception is children born and living outside the country, where one of the parents is a Finn or a foreign person who has married a Finn. In Latvia, a permit for dual citizenship can be obtained from the Cabinet of Ministers of the country. In Iceland, dual citizenship can only be obtained by foreigners who have become citizens of this country through naturalization. For Icelanders, dual citizenship is prohibited. In Denmark, dual citizenship can only be obtained by Danes who married foreigners. And dual citizenship for foreign citizens is strictly prohibited. In Greece, dual citizenship is retained only during the processing of documents, then it is annulled. In Switzerland, only children under 22 who are born from Swedish parents outside the country are entitled to dual citizenship. In Germany, exclusively Germans from childhood by birth or married to foreigners have the right to dual citizenship. In Spain, dual citizenship can only be obtained by residents of countries that have signed an international treaty with it: Argentina, Bolivia, Guatemala, Honduras, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Chile, Ecuador. In Moldova, for the adoption of dual citizenship it is necessary to obtain a personal decree of the President of the Republic. In Norway, children born abroad receive a second citizenship according to birth or heritage rights. The same applies to Belgium, Luxembourg, Austria and the Netherlands.